Enjoying the moment

May 15, 2009

Ishra's feet

At 10 after nine this morning, I was still lazing in bed with my two kids. My children have this habit of climbing into my bed when they wake up. And usually on weekdays, by the time they wake up, my husband would have left for work.

This morning I can’t stop thinking about how lucky I am that I didn’t have to beat the early morning traffic to drop the kids off to the baby-sitter before rushing to work. That’s how my life used to look like at the start of every week day.

Having a full time job used to stress the hell out of me. By the time I got home, all I wanted to do was to chill out. If I had to put in long hours I ended up being a monster mom who yelled a lot. Especially on days when the politics at work were unbearable. I hated who I was becoming and quit after realising that it was not doing anyone at home any good.

All I want now is  a stress-free life and to be able to enjoy my kids and focus on things that I am passionate about.

Once in a while I get told (usually by people in businesses) that I should work hard now so that I have more time with my kids in the future. The truth is, I believe in living in the present. I don’t even know if I have the next few years.

I still work but I just don’t spend as much time on it as I used to. I spend about 4 hours a day on work and I do it around my children’s time.

Money is important, yes I agree, but it isn’t the only important thing in my life. I do not believe in working my butt out just so I can buy a big house and a big car.  And only to find that at the end of the month  a huge chunk of my salary goes to the bank. At the same I do not judge other people who do so. What matters most is one’s happiness and one’s peace of mind I’d say.

When I was working, what killed me the most was the guilt. When I was at work, all I think about was my kids yet when I was at home I would be thinking about work. Especially if I had deadlines to meet.

I am more able to live in the present after reading Echart Tolle’s,  A New Earth which promotes living in the moment and awareness.

Nowadays, I am more aware of which dimension I am operating from. I have also learned to be okay with a lot of things that happens, as my days unfold.

One Response to “Enjoying the moment”


  1. Thank you for sharing your thoughts on being in the moment and enjoying your life as it unfolds. I think a lot more people would be happier if they enjoyed their life as it unfolds instead of waiting until they are “successful.”


Leave a comment